Home / T20 World Cup / History Of The ICC T20 Cricket World Cup

History Of The ICC T20 Cricket World Cup

Previously dubbed as ICC World Twenty20, the ICC T20 World Cup is the international tournament of Twenty20 International cricket. Conducted by governing body of the cricket, the ICC (International Cricket Council), the series presently has of 16 teams, including the leading 8 teams from the rankings at the specific time limit and 4 other nations selected via the qualifier for T20 World Cup. All games are conducted as internationals matches.

The tournament has initially been held every 2 Years. On the other hand, the next variant of the series is planned to occur 4 years after the end of the 2016 version in 2020 in Australia. The ICC in May 2016 presented the concept of conducting the series in 2018, with South Africa being the likely host. But by end of ICC Champions Trophy 2017, the ICC declared that the next version of the World T20 might happen in Australia in 2020, as initially planned.

Exactly 6 series have been played so far, and only the West Indies, who presently has the cup, has won the series on various instances. The 2007 World Twenty20, the opening event, was won by India and hosted by South Africa. India defeated Pakistan at the Wanderers Stadium in the final in Johannesburg. The 2009 series was conducted in England and was won by Pakistan, the previous runner-up, who overtook Sri Lanka at Lord’s in the final. The 3rd series was hosted by the nations making up the West Indies cricket team and conducted in 2010.

ICC T20 Cricket World Cup Winners & Runner-up

Australia was defeated by England in Barbados in the final winning its only and first international series till date. The 2012 World Twenty20, the 4th series, was conducted for the first time in Asia, with all matches being held at Sri Lanka. The West Indies took the cup by defeating Sri Lanka in the final. The 2014 ICC World Twenty20, the 5th series, was held at Bangladesh and was won by Sri Lanka. West Indies are the present holders for T20 World Cup, defeating England in the finals of 2016 series, winning their 2nd cup.

All full members of ICC automatically qualify for the series, with the rest of the places filled by other members of ICC via a qualification series, dubbed as the T20 World Cup Qualifier. The inaugural 2007 World Twenty20’s qualification came from the outcome of the initial cycle of a 50-over league for ICC members and affiliate associates, the World Cricket League. Scotland and Kenya, the 2007 WCL Division One series’ two finalists, qualified later in the year for the World Twenty20. A different qualification series was conducted for the 2009 World Twenty20. The number of nations qualifying via the World Twenty20 Qualifier has differed, though, varying from 2 (in 2012 and 2010) to 6 (in 2016 and 2014).

The ICC T20 World Cup 2020 is planned to be the 7th ICC T20 World Cup series, with games to be hosted by Australia from October 18, 2020, to November 15, 2020. The final will be conducted at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

About Nitin Sirsat

Nitin being one of the fitness freaks contributes to this immense knowledge in Cricket. He is an engineer by profession but gives away his whole time towards innovations in Sports.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Check Also

ICC T20 World Cup 2016 WI vs ENG Final Match, Scorecard, Highlights, Winner

ICC T20 World Cup 2016 WI vs ENG Final Match, Scorecard, Highlights, Winner

In order to grab the 2nd cup in the ICC T20 World Cup 2016, West Indies’ intentions were clear that day. Not more than 4 months back, 2016 was already ...