Home / India Team / ICC T20 World Cup 2014 Final Match, Scorecard, Highlights, Winner

ICC T20 World Cup 2014 Final Match, Scorecard, Highlights, Winner

It was the 4th time that Sri Lanka has entered the Finale of a tournament. The previous three times were not good for the team. And Sri Lanka was not ready to repeat the history. India’s limited-overs talisman for a long time now, Yuvraj Singh, came in the 11th over at 64 for 2, scored 11 off 21, refused the strike for the unstoppable Virat Kohli, and that decision led to the second-lowest total for the loss of only 4 wickets and the lowest first-innings score in an ICC T20 World Cup final.

This finale might have put down one of the unsurpassed limited-overs players, but just ask Sangakkara and Jayawardene, the victory did not come easy. India stood strong for the small total commendably, preying on the nerves of Sri Lanka, spinning a web around the batsmen and fielding everything down. But the two Sri Lankan players somehow had sufficient power in them to take their team to the victory. Below the palpable stress, against a sharp captain, Jayawardene negotiated the early nerves with 24, and Sangakkara helped with an unbeaten 52 off 35.

The history will recall Yuvraj’s innings and so will Sangakkara’s for totally opposite reasons but for the same conclusion. Yuvraj has won India games on innumerable occasions from nowhere, he has turned around games with few balls and he has buried sides with his cameos, which is why he was still in the final in the team. MS Dhoni trusted his player and sent him before himself and Suresh Raina. Kohli had just started to put behind him a slow beginning against Sri Lankan bowlers. He had even been dropped on 11 by Lasith Malinga (opposition captain).

In their innings, Sri Lanka was making an entry into unchartered territory. The fear of winning does wonderful things. They looked for the easy path. Kusal Perera made an effort to smash all out. Jayawardene conveyed sanity to the progress with a nudge here, a tickle there, and with the needed run-rate in control, it started to become easy, until the bowler of the tournament, R Ashwin, made a top edge from Tillakaratne Dilshan, which was excellently caught at the square-leg boundary by Kohli. Two players who did not deserve to be on the losing end were keeping the Indian team alive.

After few overs, Sangakkara played possibly the best shot of the game. India had depended on accuracy by Ashwin all over the match and had got themselves an additional fielder by not positioning a fine-leg at all. This time, although, Sangakkara took it in front of the middle, shifted inside the line, and closed the face at the precise moment to move the ball for four. Now some luck came through with edges landing securely in the desired places. You could not fault Sangakkara for speculating where the hell this luck had been when Gambhir, Gilchrist, Samuels, and Afridi had broken him from within. And the rest is history.

ICC T20 World Cup 2014 Final Match Scorecard

Full Match Scorecard Details: Twenty20 World Cup 2014 Final Match India vs Sri Lanka (IND vs SL) on 6th April 2014

India (IND): 130/4 (20 Overs)
Sri Lanka (SL): 134/4 (17.5 Overs)
Result: Sri Lanka Won The Match By 6 Wickets With 13 Balls Remaining
Player Of The Match: KC Sangakkara (Sri Lanka)

India Innings (20 Overs Maximum) R B 4s 6s SR
RG Sharma c Senanayake b Herath 29 26 3 0 111.53
AM Rahane b Mathews 3 8 0 0 37.50
V Kohli run out (Senanayake) 77 58 5 4 132.75
Yuvraj Singh c NLTC Perera b Kulasekara 11 21 0 0 52.38
MS Dhoni not out 4 7 0 0 57.14

Extras: 6 (b 2, lb 2, w 2)
Total: 130 Runs 4 Wickets In 20 Overs (6.50 Runs Per Over)
Did Not Bat: SK Raina, R Ashwin, RA Jadeja, A Mishra, B Kumar, MM Sharma
Fall Of Wickets: 1-4 (Rahane, 1.3 ov), 2-64 (RG Sharma, 10.3 ov), 3-119 (Yuvraj Singh, 18.1 ov), 4-130 (Kohli, 19.6 ov)

Bowling (Sri Lanka) Over Maiden Run Wicket Economy
KMDN Kulasekara 4 0 29 1 7.25
AD Mathews 4 0 25 1 6.25
SMSM Senanayake 4 0 22 0 5.50
SL Malinga 4 0 27 0 6.75
HMRKB Herath 4 0 23 1 5.75


Sri Lanka Innings (Target 131 runs in 20 overs) R B 4s 6s SR
MDKJ Perera c Jadeja b MM Sharma 5 7 1 0 71.42
TM Dilshan c Kohli b Ashwin 18 16 4 0 112.50
DPMD Jayawardene c Ashwin b Raina 24 24 4 0 100.00
KC Sangakkara Not Out 52 35 6 1 148.57
HDRL Thiramanne c Dhoni b Mishra 7 11 1 0 63.63
NLTC Perera Not Out 23 14 0 3 164.28

Estras: 5 (lb 2, w 3)
Total: 134 Runs 4 Wickets in 17.5 Overs (7.51 Runs Per Over)
Did Not Bat: AD Mathews, KMDN Kulasekara, SMSM Senanayake, HMRKB Herath, SL Malinga*
Fall of Wickets: 1-5 (MDKJ Perera, 1.1 ov), 2-41 (Dilshan, 5.5 ov), 3-65 (Jayawardene, 9.5 ov), 4-78 (Thirimanne, 12.3 ov)

Bowling (India) Over Maiden Run Wicket Economy
B Kumar 3 0 18 0 6.00
MM Sharma 2 0 18 1 9.00
R Ashwin 3.5 0 29 1 7.56
A Mishra 4 0 32 1 8.00
SK Raina 4 0 24 1 6.00
RA Jadeja 1 0 11 0 11.00


About Nitin Sirsat

Nitin being one of the fitness freaks contributes to this immense knowledge in Cricket. He is an engineer by profession but gives away his whole time towards innovations in Sports.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Check Also

ICC T20 World Cup 2016 WI vs ENG Final Match, Scorecard, Highlights, Winner

ICC T20 World Cup 2016 WI vs ENG Final Match, Scorecard, Highlights, Winner

In order to grab the 2nd cup in the ICC T20 World Cup 2016, West Indies’ intentions were clear that day. Not more than 4 months back, 2016 was already ...