Home / T20 CWC 2020 / ICC T20 World Cup 2020 Host Country Name

ICC T20 World Cup 2020 Host Country Name

Now that the fixtures for ICC T20 World Cup 2020 have been declared, people are now just eager to see the tournament go live. We are all aware that the ICC T20 World Cup 2020 will be hosted in Australia. Here are some important facts about Australia.

Australia is the country that has hosted the most number of international tournaments. Speaking of last year alone, Australia hosted a match against New Zealand where they won with 7 wickets. Next, the team played two matches against England in February 2018 and won both the matches by 5 and 7 wickets respectively. The series was against New Zealand. Here, too, the team won the 2 matches by 5 wickets and 19 runs respectively.

Speaking of the hosting country, it will be unfair if we forget to mention the stadium where the matches will be conducted. The country has a total of 7 major grounds namely Adelaide, Brisbane, Geelong, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth, and Sydney. The MCG (Melbourne Cricket Ground) is the biggest stadium in Australia, the biggest cricket ground with the ability to hold most people, the 10th biggest in the globe, has the biggest light towers in any stadium, and the biggest in the Southern Hemisphere. It has a sitting capacity of 100,024.

Coming to the Australian team, it is the joint oldest team in the history of Test cricket, Moreover, the team has played in 1877 in the first ever Test match. Also, the team took part in the first ever International T20 cricket match in the 2004–05 season against New Zealand.

Australia is the most victorious team in Test cricketing history. The team has won over 350 matches in Test cricket at almost 47% success rate. The team holds the record for the most successive victories with 16 matches in a row. This has been attained twice; first between October 1999 and February 2001. And, second between December 2005 and January 2008. The team shares the record for the most successive series wins getting a victory for 9 series between October 2005 and June 2008.

Australia’s highest total is 434/4 in an ODI inning, scored against South Africa off 50 overs on 12 March 2006 in Johannesburg. The team is the only one in the World Cup history to win 3 successive tournaments—1999, 2003, and 2007. The team has won the most World Cups—5. In addition to this, the team has won ICC Champions Trophy 2 times in 2006 and 2009. Last, but not least, the team has won Laureus World Sports Award for Team of the Year in 2002.

Now that you are well aware of the background of the country hosting the ICC T20 World Cup 2020, it seems that team Australia will be a tough opponent. And seeing the teams history in the world cup (with 5 cups in hand), it is for sure that the team will give a hard time for the remaining teams. For now, knowing the history of the hosting team is all we have for you to offer.

About Nitin Sirsat

Nitin being one of the fitness freaks contributes to this immense knowledge in Cricket. He is an engineer by profession but gives away his whole time towards innovations in Sports.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Check Also

T20 World Cup Schedule 2020

ICC T20 World Cup 2020 Schedule PDF, Time Table, Fixture Download

The 2020 ICC T20 World Cup is booked to be held in Australia from 18 October to 15 November 2020. The T20 Cricket World Cup 2020 last will be held ...