Home / Group 1 / ICC T20 World Cup 2020 Team’s List & Groups

ICC T20 World Cup 2020 Team’s List & Groups

With the declaration of fixtures by ICC for T20 World Cup, cricket fans are all excited to witness the firecrackers in the tournament. The ICC T20 World Cup 2020 is scheduled from October 18, 2020, to November 15, 2020. Let us have a look at the grouping format and the teams that will be playing in the ICC T20 World Cup 2020.

T20 World Cup 2020 Teams

The top 8 teams in the world are automatically qualified for the ICC T20 World Cup 2020. These teams are not entitled to play the qualifiers to enter the super 12. They are, by default, placed in the super 12. The top 8 teams qualified in the super 12 (as per their rankings) are Pakistan, India, Australia, England, New Zealand, South Africa, West Indies, and Afghanistan.

Unfortunately, team Sri Lanka and Bangladesh could not make it to the super 8. But on the bright side, they are qualified to play the qualifiers. This means, these two teams are directly entitled to play the qualifiers and will not need to compete against other teams to get a spot in the qualifiers. Other teams that will be competing for qualifiers are Scotland, Zimbabwe, UAE, Netherlands, Hong Kong, Oman, and Ireland.

T20 World Cup 2020 Groups

The grouping in the ICC T20 World Cup 2020 is done mainly on the basis of ranking. The super 12 will contain the above-mentioned top 8 teams and the winner of Qualifier 1 and 2 as well as runner ups of Qualifier 1 and 2, respectively. This makes a sum of 12 teams playing the tournament.

T20 World Cup 2020 Group 1

These 12 teams will then be divided into 2 groups.

Group 1 consists of Pakistan, Australia, New Zealand, West Indies, Winner of Qualifier 1, and Runner Up of Qualifier 2. On the other hand,

T20 World Cup 2020 Group 2

Group 2 will comprise India, England, South Africa, Afghanistan, Winner of Qualifier 2, and Runner Up of Qualifier 1. The top 4 teams from both the groups will be competing in semi-finals, eventually leading to the finals between the top 2 teams.

The matches will start from October 24, 2020. The semi-finals for the ICC T20 World Cup 2020 are scheduled on November 11, 2020, and November 12, 2020. Lastly, the finale for the ICC T20 World Cup 2020 will take place on November 15, 2020, at Melbourne Cricket Ground.

T20 World Cup 2020 Forecast

Even though all the teams playing the tournament have the potential to win the cup, cricket fans all over the world are expecting the Indian Cricket team to win the cup. Having Virat Kohli, the best batsmen, and Rohit Sharma on their side, team India seriously got some huge fire within just with the two of these men. On the other hand, with full of experience and perhaps his final ICC T20 World Cup, MS Dhoni will be all set to give a final and lasting impression to the world.

Tying all the loose ends together, even though we cannot guarantee if India will win the ICC T20 World Cup 2020 or not, one thing is for sure that they will give a tough fight to grab the cup.

About Nitin Sirsat

Nitin being one of the fitness freaks contributes to this immense knowledge in Cricket. He is an engineer by profession but gives away his whole time towards innovations in Sports.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Check Also

T20 World Cup Schedule 2020

ICC T20 World Cup 2020 Schedule PDF, Time Table, Fixture Download

The 2020 ICC T20 World Cup is booked to be held in Australia from 18 October to 15 November 2020. The T20 Cricket World Cup 2020 last will be held ...